How to Give Your Shih Tzu a Teddy Bear Cut

Heidi with Teddy Bear cut

My daughter rescued a Shih Tzu, the cutest little thing, about 3 years ago. Little did we know of the grooming required for this breed at the time. Heidi was a rescue so we did not consider this when taking her, but that would not have changed our minds. She needed a home and had been abandoned 4 times in the three short years of her life and had been abused. She is now 6 years old. I don’t understand this because she is a very sweet dog.

Back to the grooming. Shih Tzu’s hair grows very fast and should be groomed every 4 to 6 weeks. And should be brushed at least 3-4 times a week to stop matting. We keep her hair short, it is easier to care for, and get a cut called the teddy bear cut. Due to finances, I wanted to learn how to do this myself. It costs $40 every grooming session, which is a good price. She comes out looking great with bows and smelling pretty. They do a great job at Lake Murray Grooming. We went through several groomers before finding this one that we liked. When you do find a good groomer, stick with it, so your dog becomes comfortable there.

I found this great informative video online, exactly what I was looking for. A Shih Tzu Teddy Bear Cut. The video does not include clipping the whole body just the face, which is the most difficult. I have not tried the clippers yet, but found it very helpful to trim my Shih Tzu’s face. She looks so much better!

spanielmom93 also has a video about clipper blades. She uses an Andis clipper ($150) she purchased from Petedge.com. Clippers can also be purchased on Amazon.

13 thoughts on “How to Give Your Shih Tzu a Teddy Bear Cut

  1. Hi would you mind letting me know which hosting company
    you’re using? I’ve loaded your web site in 3
    different browsers and I will say this website loads a lot quicker
    then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at
    a fair price? Kudos, I appreciate it! Please also excuse
    if my english is not good.

  2. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. Kudos

  3. Pingback: The First Official Entry | K9 Links Resource

  4. Pingback: Adorable Shih Tzu Pictures – Top 30 Shih Tzu Pictures from the web. | Shih Tzu Puppies

Leave a comment!

