Calm Your Dog With Chamomile

Depending on the sensitivity of your pooch, the sounds of airplanes, thunderstorms and even doorbells can cause your dog to panic. My Golden Retriever is afraid of loud noises and July 4th is nerve-racking for her. Although we can’t always predict when low-flying jets will pass overhead, there are plenty of resources when intense weather is coming . This allows time to help relax and reward your dog with the help of chamomile.

Chamomile is a safe and natural sedative, derived from a daisy-like plant, that can be effective in calming an anxious dog (and people, too). As our dogs can’t sip a mug of herbal tea, some innovative companies now offer chamomile-infused chews.

Sam’s Yams makes a treat that combines the nutritional benefit of natural sweet potato with the calming effects of chamomile. These antioxidant rich “Calmly Chamomile Yam Bones” should safely satisfy your dog’s natural chewing urges while helping him to weather the storm. Sweet potatoes are cut with the skin remaining for added nutrients. The sweet potato is then naturally infused with soothing chamomile tea.

Last July 4th I made chamomile tea and mixed it in with my dog’s dry dog food. Oatmeal is also calming and nutritious. It is a good idea to prepare your dog for loud noises by taking Fido out for a long walk before the noise hits. Remember, your dog can sense your mood as well, when humans are calm it helps our furry friends stay calm. Pets sense our energy!

Blue light is also calming to your pet. Simply buy a blue light bulb and put it where your pet stays or near his bed. Soothing music also calms your pet. Soft music such as easy listening or even Zen music. Music will also muzzle the sounds of loud noises. Sometimes I leave on the TV so the pet does not feel alone, if you are going out. I have even seen TV’s in the rooms at my local animal shelter.

Note: Check with your vet to see what food products are right for your dog. (Most vets are not holistic vets). Chamomile and other remedies listed are good for any type of anxiety that needs calming.

5 thoughts on “Calm Your Dog With Chamomile

  1. Thanks for a very helpful post – my 13 year old dog has larangeal paralysis and am trying to avoid an operation – so camomile will help keep her relaxed and breathing easily. She is very exciteable and I’d rather not use stronger drugs.

  2. Hey! I know this is kind of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established website like yours require a lot of work?

    I’m completely new to writing a blog however I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog
    so I will be able to share my own experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new
    aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    • It does require a lot of work in the beginning setting it up. But I love doing it. The amount of work depends on how much you want to write, daily, weekly, monthly. You are already half-way there writing in a journal.

Leave a comment!

