Weekly Wag: Fostering Rewards

I started fostering about a year ago. I had mixed feelings of getting too attached to the dog yet knowing in the end the dog would have a loving forever home. As it turns out I did end up fostering my love bug for almost a year, you can imagine my attachment. Duke has been in his new home for almost two weeks now. I have an open door policy that he can come back if it does not work out with the new family. He is in a loving home with other pets and children.

I knew that Duke would not be with me always and at some point would go to a new home. Although I miss him terribly I know this is best for him and his happiness comes first. I kept the mind-set that everything I did for him was to be with his new family. I socialized him, taught him not to be food or toy possessive, played with him, taught him a few basic commands such as sit, stay, down, and leave it. I have cats also which is a great plus when fostering. The more the dog is accustomed to the more adoptable the pet will be.

I just got another foster yesterday, a 6 month old female black lab mix, Vivian. She is so timid, but that will all change. I don’t know how long Vivian will be with me. I do know that fostering is very rewarding and getting another foster takes away missing the last dog a little. I plan on visiting my first foster when I can, after her gets accustomed to his new family.

I would recommend fostering for anyone that is able to. The rescue usually provides everything the dog needs, such as food, crate, leash and any vet service required. And usually has a trainer for any behavioral problems. These poor dogs need love to be more adoptable. When you search for your family pet, you do not want to see a scared skittish dog. Most of these rescue dogs have a traumatic past and need lots of love and patience.

I do have an interact before I take on a foster to make sure it is a fit for my pack. You don’t ever want to compromise the pets that are already in your home. I happen to have a 10-year-old golden retriever that is excellent with other dogs. She is motherly, friendly and patient. So now I get the shy timid dogs to bring them out of their shell and be social. The bottom line is fostering is a very rewarding experience and I would recommend homing these poor dogs instead of being cooped up in a shelter or cage until they get adopted. Rescue dogs need lots of love and socialization.

To find shelters/rescue groups in your area click here.

Leave a comment!

