Happy 11th Birthday Lexis!

Lexis turned 11 today! She is running back to me, she always gets to the water before me.

Lexis turned 11 today! She is running back to me, she always gets to the water before me.

On March 7th, 2013, Lexis turned 11 years old. I took her to her favorite place, dog beach in Ocean Beach, CA. She acts like she is 2 at the beach. I took in Lexis when she was 7 years old when her owner could no longer care for her. Lexis is my pride and joy! She has a great temperament, very tolerant of  all cats and dogs. I use her to socialize other dogs. She loves to be petted by everyone she meets.

Heidi

Heidi

Heidi is my daughter’s shih tzu. She was rescued in 2008 after being abused and abandoned several times. She had lots of issues when we first got her but is very happy and well-adjusted now. She is our ‘sand’ dog, she likes to dig holes at the beach and only wades up to her ankles in the water. She is also the alpha of the house, it does not matter how big any other dog is and the funny thing is they listen to her!

Me and Zeus

Me and Zeus

My daughter adopted Zeus, shih tzu, in January 2013 after he was relinquished to a shelter by his previous owners who would not treat his eyes. The shelter was going to euthanize him, as he was labeled aggressive. A dog rescue saved him on his last day. He ended up having his right eye removed and only 10% vision in his left eye. The vet said he had retinal detachment from being shaken. He is no longer aggressive. He does bark at strangers, once he knows you, he loves to snuggle.

Zeus

Zeus

This was Zeus’ first time at the beach. He did very well. He even played with other dogs on the beach and ran and chased them. He listens for dog tags. I think his other senses are heightened and dogs already have a heightened sense of smell. He can be in a back room and knows when I am feeding the other dogs kibble (no cooking smell).

Lexis and Zeus

Zeus and a doggy friend.

We all had a great time! Lexis would go out and check on Zeus when she was not fetching the ball. I have a retriever that does not retrieve on dry land, only in the water. It takes her a day now to recuperate from the beach, but I think it keeps her young at heart. Lexis is very motherly and I love her  with all my heart!

Heidi and Zeus

Heidi and Zeus

Leave a comment!

