It is my belief that dogs choose us as their companion, not the other way around. It is that subtle voice in your head (heart) that says this is the one! They are the teachers, not us.-Paula Perry

4dogday

Solo1

I first met the dog I would live with, travel with and love for 17 years in a small NCDL rescue centre, now Dogs Trust in Ballymena.  My best friend, whom I was living with at the time had recently rehomed a dog from there and as we were both big dog lovers and now in our own digs, she promised me she would let me have my own dog too.

So the week before my 22nd birthday we decided to take the hour and a half trip up to the centre and have a look. I knew what I had in mind as I always loved lurchers with their sleek coats and slender aerodynamic bodies. This would be my chance to have one of my own. When we got there we walked around the pens looking at all the potential in those many pairs of brown eyes.

There were…

View original post 985 more words

Leave a comment!

