On feeling with your Heart…

‘The Path of the Horse’  is a documentary  by former horse trainer Stormy May who sold her ranch and gave up training horses to travel the world to interview today’s leading horsemanship teachers and visionaries; Alexander Nevzorov, Klaus Hempfling, Linda Kohanov, Mark Rashid, Carolyn Resnick, and equine artist Kim McElroy. A must see documentary for any horse lover, trainer, or owner. This documentary focuses on the deep connection or bond between human and animal, without using force to train horses. It is very similar to the philosophy of Jennifer Arnold, author of ‘Through a Dog’s Eyes’. Jennifer believes in order to train dogs, they must be able to make choices and not forced to learn a behavior. She trains service dogs. I believe training or teaching techniques can be interchangeable with horses and dogs, as far as philosophy goes. I recently encountered the opportunity to be around horses, on a regular basis at a Morgan Ranch. I and others give the horses Reiki and afterward we take turns riding one horse, as we all need refresher riding lessons. 🙂 Although I grew up around horses, I am learning from scratch just as Stormy did, how to communicate with horses.-Paula

:: FocalHeart ::

cheval3

Photo: univers-cheval.com

I always knew that this path of connecting with animals would bring me back full circle to the beginning… Right back to the exact point where it all started… I knew I would eventually be pulled like a magnet towards being around horses again, even though after nearly 8 years of weekly dreaded horseriding classes, I walked away from the whole training, dressage, jumping etc… even as a child it felt wrong to me to force a horse to please me just because I could. I couldnt use the stick, I couldnt pull on the reigns, I couldnt force a horse to jump if he/she didnt want to… I was a useless horse rider! I didnt have the instinct to dominate the horse, I was just happy to be in the stables with them, to be around them… I was dreading the actual lesson… I was terrified! I…

View original post 584 more words

Leave a comment!

