May is National Pet Month

Two litters of pups that need homes from It’s the Pits Rescue in San Diego, CA. Click on photo to go to website. 🙂

Every month is pet month for me and many other pet lovers. I enjoy writing about, living with, and learning about pet care. The more research I did and still do about pet care, I came to understand the human/animal bond and natural/holistic pet care. May is a time to reflect on our pets and hopefully gain some new pet parents. There are so many homeless dogs in our shelters and animal rescues. Did you know there are even horse rescue groups? Please adopt and don’t shop, one of most used mottos.

Always take some time each day to “be” with your pet, walking, playing, or watching TV together. Remember your dog’s mind needs stimulation, buy or make an interactive game. Whether you have a horse, dog, kitty, turtle, rabbit or guinea pig, your pet loves your attention. My golden loves to play hide and seek. She gets so happy when she finds me! If you are gone all day, make sure pets have a toy to keep their mind stimulated. There is also dog and cat tv or cd’s to put on while you are away. Sometimes I just put on some music. I use peaceful relaxing music.

When I have  a rough day I can count on my pets to forget about my troubles. I love just watching them play throughout the day, they do the most hilarious things. My two year old rescued cat was raised with dogs and thinks she is part of the pack. She sits in line with the dogs when it is treat time. My adult rescued cat loves to give head rubs to humans. My golden will always greet you with a toy in her mouth. My daughter’s shih tzu is a social butterfly and when I have been on the computer too long she has the cutest little bark. My foster has a great personality. She is always checking on the other pets, if she hears a noise or we are doing something with one of the other pets she has to supervise. Pets are a great stress reliever and many are therapy dogs going to hospitals and assisted living facilities with positive effects.

You do not need a lot of money to make your pet happy in these hard economic times. For example, I took my Golden Retriever to the beach the other day, her favorite place. I took her in when she was seven years old, now she is twelve. This is the Happiest Place on Earth for my golden. Your dog needs a good diet, they are carnivores not vegetarians, (some veggies are good) exercise and lots of love. You can browse through my categories or feel free to ask me any questions about pet care.

Please remember to cut down on pet overpopulation, have your pets spayed or neutered. If you are looking for a pet, some things to consider are: pet’s activity level, size of pet, other pets already in your home, environment for the pet and cost. This should be a life-long decision and not based on a cute face that will grow up sooner than you think. Three important words for a happy pet, socialize, socialize, socialize. Pets are a part of the family and should be a family decision. Adopting or fostering a pet is one of the most rewarding things you can do. If you cannot own a pet, consider volunteering for your local shelter or rescue group. If you cannot afford a pet consider fostering as the food and vet bills are covered by the rescue. One of the things I get asked most about being a foster parent is, “Don’t you get attached to the dogs?” Yes, I do. But in the end it is very rewarding when they find their forever home.

Teach children to respect animals. I see so many children run up to my dogs, which is not a problem, but other dogs it may be. I always tell them don’t run up to dogs and ask permission to pet them. My shih tzu was abused when we took her in and would snap at children running up to her and touching her. (She is fine now) I hear parents tell their children don’t ever pet a dog you don’t know. Let’s find a middle ground. My youngest child just finished her degree in criminal justice to become an animal control officer. She is in the photo above passing out treats to our “zoo”. I hope someday there will no longer be a need for shelters or rescue groups!

Leave a comment!

