Pets of the Homeless

Pets of the Homeless is a nonprofit volunteer organization that provides pet food and veterinary care to the homeless in local communities across the United States and Canada.

homeless pet

Between 5% to 10% of homeless people have dogs and/or cats. In some areas of the country the rate is as high as 24%.

The bond between pet owners and their pets is often just about indestructible. That doesn’t change when the owners are homeless.

You can make a difference to someone who has a loving loyal companion pet. Donate pet food at Pets of the Homeless collection sites. Find a collection site near you →

POTH sponsor veterinarians that go to where the homeless congregate and provide veterinary care such as vaccines, spay/neuter and other needed treatments. These are called Wellness Clinics.  POTH assist homeless shelters that will allow pets sanctuary with their owners by shipping crates so that the homeless can come in out of the cold and heat.

Give a Dog a Bone!

The week of August 4-10, 2013 is the fourth National Feeding Pets of the Homeless “Give a Dog a Bone” Week. The national organization, Pets of the Homeless, asks the public to locate a collection site in their community by visiting their website. Donations of pet food should be taken to one of the identified local collection sites.

4 thoughts on “Pets of the Homeless

  1. I am a recently retired homeless female 4 months now and I do have a very special friend my dog Lola a boxer/Pug mix. I got her last year not knowing this is where I would be today and she is my first dog ever and I dont think I could handle being out here in the streets alone without her. My dog is my companion and protector and someone who I can talk to when I am alone and afraid.

Leave a comment!

